Tuesday, July 14, 2015

Maybe don't swipe at all!

Online dating. Everyone is doing it, or knows someone who's doing it. It's the thing to do now and day's. It's relatively easy. You have the chance to check out these pics of this stranger and exchange a few messages to see if you'll hit it off. It's way easier then going to a bar or lounge and trying to talk to someone over loud ass music and maybe a buzz. Over the phone, social media, emails, you will know in a few messages if you want to meet up with them. If you don't, you blow them off and block them and you'll never have to worry about it again.....if you're lucky.

You see, there is a slight chance that you do like the pics, and the messages, and you think to yourself, "we've talked enough. They are legit" so you decide to meet for dinner. Public place. Always! You hit it off. Right off the bat. They are attractive, you know they find you attractive and you have a really good time. You continue with this person. Realize it's not just a fling or hook up. You start seeing each other a few times a week. Spend every second you can with them. You enjoy it so much you force yourself to ignore the red flags. Don't ignore the red flags people. They are fucking RIGHT THERE for a reason! Anyway, you start making excuses for said red flags. Even your friend's warn you and you ignore it. Say to yourself "they will change. They are just not used to my personality". Or, maybe they were just having a bad day. Then it just gets worse and worse. And it gets to a point where you realize you are way too independent to let someone tell you what to do. So you end it. Or you try to at least. See, you don't realize how vulnerable you had become. You had never let anyone have control over you and then this 'thing' comes along and it's such a fucked up feeling to not have your power. To not have control. But what you do have is a shit load of bad ass friends and family. You have a support system. So they help you get past it. They help you move on. And you do. And quick too. Cause when you get that fucking scared of a person, nothing nice they ever did or said matters anymore. It's actually sickening. It was such a waste of time. But it's something that some people have to go through. A weird and fucked up life lesson. But you learn. Some people unfortunately don't learn or it's hard for them to get out. They think the other person would really hurt themselves or hurt them and they are scared and think no one will understand. And they stay in these toxic relationships. But everyone should know that there is help out there. It is at the tip of your finger tips and in your support system. Use them! And know that you don't ever, ever, ever have to stay if you don't want too! Also, don't blame yourself cause someone is sick in the cabeza! You didn't know this was going to happen. But you did and you CAN do anything to get away and get out. It will suck for a few weeks, but you'll heal.

Meeting people in general is hard. Online or a bar. Dating is hard. Relationships are hard. But what's not hard are those red flags that pop up quick. They are easy to spot. Be smart. Use your judgment and kick the psycho to the curb! ✌🏼

A good one will come into your life when you least expect it. And you'll open up your heart again. Cause you know at the end of the day, no matter what situation you'll be faced with, you'll be ok. You always are.