Friday, December 18, 2015

Abs are really made in the kitchen? Say what?!

First and foremost, I am by NO MEANS a nutritionist, professional, trainer, doctor, dietitian, etc. I have previously wrote about my new eating habits. I do what works for me. Doesn't mean it works for everyone.

I'm a petite person. I'm 5'1.5". I'm not meant to be thick. So before my current body frame came to light, I was actually a thick girl for my height. At one point I was 142 pounds! I was chonchis! I had big cheeks and a pansa. And I thought I was all cute! I was wearing a size 6/7. I was drinking beer and eating pizza and In-N-Out every chance I got. I was cooking like a typical mexican cooks. Then I started cross fit and realized that I felt like I ran a marathon after only a 400 meter run! I knew something wasn't right and I had to make a change.

Like I said in my other blog, I have a few loved one's that have helped me through this. Eating better, reading labels, changing my cooking products. It has been a hard transition and expensive. But when it comes to food, should we really be putting a price on what is good for us? Here we are going to the movies spending $11 for entry plus $40 at the concession stand. No Manches!! I rather use that money to eat a healthy salmon and veggie dinner before I go to the movies. And then have 1 candy bar as a treat! I used to go to the store and spend $75 for the whole week on groceries for NicholasG and I. Now it's like $75 for 3 day's of food. But I'm OK with that now. I know that my son and I are healthy. Granted I can't keep my son 100% healthy when he's at his dad's. I don't have control over that. But I try when he's with me.

Back in May, I was 31" around the waist. 6 months later, I'm 26".  I'm donating all my size 6, 5, 4, jeans! I refuse to ever be a size 6 again! Nothing wrong with it, but like I said above, I'm not meant to be thick for my height. TRUST ME, I miss my thick legs and ass. But I'll get that back with muscle, not gordo!

I get asked a lot "what are you doing to loose weight? How have you lost your pansa?" Simple. I don't eat like a typical mexican anymore. I've abandoned the manteca, arroz, frijoles, tortillas, bread, beer, etc. I still cheat every now and then. Monster and I have our "taco date nights". But this was an everyday occurrence since I was born! One of my first meals according to my mom was egg yolk with smashed beans and rice! And being a daughter of a carnicero, well my meals included a lot of red meat!! But that is one thing I can't ever really give up. I love meat! But it's been cut down to 1, maybe 2 day's a week. I eat a lot of fish! And not that farm raised crap either. I pay the extra money for Wild Caught fish. I eat my oatmeal every morning. Gluten free, organic oatmeal with blueberries and banana or whatever fruit I have. I drink nothing but water. Water with lemon. Occasionally tea! Beer is very rare now. Even my whiskey has been cut down. I'll do whiskey with ice cube's. Got rid of the sprite and 7-up. I cook with only coconut oil, (unrefined, cold pressed) and peanut oil. No more Cheerios and Frosted Flakes. My snacks are almonds,cashews, Kind bars, etc.

I look in the mirror and if I flex hard enough, I can see 2 line's forming up and down my Abs. No 6 pack, not even a 4 pack...but there is a muscle pack in there. I don't have a gut anymore. My love handles are almost gone. I'm about 70% there with my Abs. I can't say that I will ever be all cut up and full of muscle, but I am signing up for Cross fit again in January. I figured I've lost some weight, so it's time to tone up. Everyone can do what I've done. It's just dedication. I didn't do a crash diet or drink diet teas, or wear a waist trainer or take those horrible diet pills. I just started being a little smarter. Looking at the bigger picture of wanting to live longer and live a better life. Especially for my son. I take 6 flights of stairs 5x a week. I try to avoid elevators and escalators as much as I can. It's the little things that make a difference. If I can do it, anyone can. Now put away that damn soda and flaming hot Cheetos and have some lemon water and strawberries!

Wednesday, December 16, 2015

My almost 8 year old.

In 4 day's, I will be a mother to an 8 year old. Half his life, I've been a single mom. Half his life he has seen me move into a relatives house, then move to one apartment, then to another. In 4 year's he's seen the struggle we've gone through to make ends meet. He's seen me go through one of the craziest times of my life where unfortunately law enforcement was involved. He's been through a lot. And yet, he's still a rad kid! He's naughty at times like all 8 year old boy's. But he's smart. Very smart. For example we had his parent conference a few day's ago. By March he should have averaged a score of 110 for reading comprehension. In November he scored a 134. Same for math. But the kid doesn't know how to apply himself to the work. He half asses everything. He doesn't finish his work. Ever. He's a great tester but when it comes to completing something, his teacher's tell me he always asks for bathroom breaks or to "stretch his legs"! haha! I can totally see him doing that too. So it's like I can't really get mad at him. The kid generally doesn't like school but he's good at it. Just lazy. I wonder where he gets that from? ;-)

I've been getting a lot of advice and help from Monster. He tells me time and time again, "you need to guide him". But I don't know how? I try to put stricter rules on him at home. Like no TV or electronics in the morning before school if he isn't dressed or ready. I make him read at least 3 pages in Spanish at night so he can learn 2 languages. I'm trying to give him good tips for table manners. But he has a debate for everything. Like for instance, if he burps while we are having dinner and I tell him to excuse himself, his debate is "Mom, everyone burps. Want me to hold it in and then my pansa will hurt?"! Or when I make him comb his hair. His reply is always "Mom, I'm already cute. I don't want to look any cuter". Everything is a debate with this kid. My cousin Kathy sent me an article once about how raising a stubborn child is a good thing. they will have a good future, good career's. They will question things and if something doesn't feel right, he ain't gonna do it. But as a mom currently raising such boy, it's hard for me. I loose my patience sometimes. I almost feel like I'm battling a brother or a friend and not my kid. Again, how do I guide him? How do I make him take me serious. I can't beat the shit out of the kid. People get all crazy about that now and day's. Yes he gets a spanking here and there but not even he takes me serious anymore. How do I get him to see me more as a parent and not a friend?

The kid cracks me up. He has a personality on him. He asked me yesterday that when he wakes up for his birthday is his voice going to change?! I told him not just yet and he had a few year's to go. But he said he already had hair on his legs and his armpits stink so why isn't his voice changing HAHA! I can't help but laugh when he says shit like this. He is seriously my favorite person in the whole world. I can't believe he's almost 8. I learn from him everyday. Even though he's going to be 8, he still needs his hugs and cuddles. Like today, he snuck in my room at 6 am. Before I almost kicked him out, I thought to myself "I won't be able to do this a few year's from now", so I let him stay and we cuddled until my alarm went off. I smelled his head and smelled the familiar scent that he has, and I squeezed his little skinny body and he fit perfectly in my arms. Maybe even a year from now I won't be able to do this. Time does really go by fast. Too fast. I look back at old picture's and I can't believe I have this little human that I am 100% responsible for. I live for him and him only.