First and foremost, I am by NO MEANS a nutritionist, professional, trainer, doctor, dietitian, etc. I have previously wrote about my new eating habits. I do what works for me. Doesn't mean it works for everyone.
I'm a petite person. I'm 5'1.5". I'm not meant to be thick. So before my current body frame came to light, I was actually a thick girl for my height. At one point I was 142 pounds! I was chonchis! I had big cheeks and a pansa. And I thought I was all cute! I was wearing a size 6/7. I was drinking beer and eating pizza and In-N-Out every chance I got. I was cooking like a typical mexican cooks. Then I started cross fit and realized that I felt like I ran a marathon after only a 400 meter run! I knew something wasn't right and I had to make a change.
Like I said in my other blog, I have a few loved one's that have helped me through this. Eating better, reading labels, changing my cooking products. It has been a hard transition and expensive. But when it comes to food, should we really be putting a price on what is good for us? Here we are going to the movies spending $11 for entry plus $40 at the concession stand. No Manches!! I rather use that money to eat a healthy salmon and veggie dinner before I go to the movies. And then have 1 candy bar as a treat! I used to go to the store and spend $75 for the whole week on groceries for NicholasG and I. Now it's like $75 for 3 day's of food. But I'm OK with that now. I know that my son and I are healthy. Granted I can't keep my son 100% healthy when he's at his dad's. I don't have control over that. But I try when he's with me.
Back in May, I was 31" around the waist. 6 months later, I'm 26". I'm donating all my size 6, 5, 4, jeans! I refuse to ever be a size 6 again! Nothing wrong with it, but like I said above, I'm not meant to be thick for my height. TRUST ME, I miss my thick legs and ass. But I'll get that back with muscle, not gordo!
I get asked a lot "what are you doing to loose weight? How have you lost your pansa?" Simple. I don't eat like a typical mexican anymore. I've abandoned the manteca, arroz, frijoles, tortillas, bread, beer, etc. I still cheat every now and then. Monster and I have our "taco date nights". But this was an everyday occurrence since I was born! One of my first meals according to my mom was egg yolk with smashed beans and rice! And being a daughter of a carnicero, well my meals included a lot of red meat!! But that is one thing I can't ever really give up. I love meat! But it's been cut down to 1, maybe 2 day's a week. I eat a lot of fish! And not that farm raised crap either. I pay the extra money for Wild Caught fish. I eat my oatmeal every morning. Gluten free, organic oatmeal with blueberries and banana or whatever fruit I have. I drink nothing but water. Water with lemon. Occasionally tea! Beer is very rare now. Even my whiskey has been cut down. I'll do whiskey with ice cube's. Got rid of the sprite and 7-up. I cook with only coconut oil, (unrefined, cold pressed) and peanut oil. No more Cheerios and Frosted Flakes. My snacks are almonds,cashews, Kind bars, etc.
I look in the mirror and if I flex hard enough, I can see 2 line's forming up and down my Abs. No 6 pack, not even a 4 pack...but there is a muscle pack in there. I don't have a gut anymore. My love handles are almost gone. I'm about 70% there with my Abs. I can't say that I will ever be all cut up and full of muscle, but I am signing up for Cross fit again in January. I figured I've lost some weight, so it's time to tone up. Everyone can do what I've done. It's just dedication. I didn't do a crash diet or drink diet teas, or wear a waist trainer or take those horrible diet pills. I just started being a little smarter. Looking at the bigger picture of wanting to live longer and live a better life. Especially for my son. I take 6 flights of stairs 5x a week. I try to avoid elevators and escalators as much as I can. It's the little things that make a difference. If I can do it, anyone can. Now put away that damn soda and flaming hot Cheetos and have some lemon water and strawberries!
No comments:
Post a Comment