Thursday, December 29, 2016

Because I have too!



It’s no secret that I work out. I’m not this crazy work out guru or a professional what so ever. I get compliments that I “stay fit” or as I like to call it “Stay MILFY”. Can I look better? Totally! We all can! Do I have the motivation, time or patience to look extra bomb.com? NOPE! I work out 2x a week. 3x if I am feeling gangster or a little extra pudgy around the waist line. Do I wake up every morning and say “I can’t wait to get my ass kicked at crossfit tonight”! Totally not! I work out because I HAVE TOO! Not necessarily because I want too. Here’s the thing. I am 5’1.5”. I have been this height since I was 15 years old. I ain’t gonna grow! So, if I eat like crap and not do any physical activity, I will stay short and pudgy. Now that’s not gonna happen. There isn’t anything against it but me personally, I don’t enjoy being heavier then I should. Even right now with my semi-healthy habits and my work outs, I am considered “overweight” for whoever decided that in the science/health world. No really I am! By like 15 pounds! Now although I have dropped down to my “ideal weight” before, it looked bad! I was seriously asked if I had a drug problem or if I was depressed. I got down to 115! I lost my boobs, which I have blogged about before. I was way too skinny! I enjoy having meat on my bones. So, I plumped up a bit. Now I am at a very happy weight. 130 lbs. I fluctuate between 130-134. I can wear size 0 pants, 2, 3 and 4. Literally I fit into all those sizes. Most girls won’t admit their weight or size. But I’m not like most girls. And I want girls to know that it is ok to be above weight from what the stupid internet says you have to be. Again, I stay fit because I have too! I am getting stronger, toned and tight! And I like how my butt and thighs look in jeans! This world has these girls thinking that they have to be stupid skinny cause that’s what men enjoy. No baby girl, men love meat and something to grab a hold of. Stop trying to be all anorexic. Do you think I deprive myself? No no no! I can have a full all veggie meal one day and a medium pepperoni pizza to myself the next. Then I’ll work out to balance my meals! Of course it also helps with my blood pressure and other health crap. I still eat meat. I’ve discussed that before. How I can’t fully stop eating meat. Butcher’s daughter man. It’s in my blood! But yes, I do semi eat better. I eat kosher organic potato chips instead of a bag of flamin’ hots. I miss you flamin’ hots! BUT the change has been good. And I’ve even convinced a ton of my friends to love the chips I love! Do I have Capri suns at home for my son? Nope! I have organic pressed juice. Do I own milk? Nope. We drink only almond milk. Little changes like that do make a difference believe it or not. I am proof of it. I maintain my weight and body form by making those little changes and getting off my ass 2x a week. It really isn’t that difficult. When I hear people making excuses like “I have to make dinner when I get home, the kids have homework, I have to wash clothes, work was too stressful”…Ok so, you’re telling me you don’t have an additional 30 minutes to spare before bed? I do all those things and then some! Sometimes before bed, I literally do sit-ups, pushups and squats. Nothing too crazy. I just do them before I lay down. Bust them out! Right by your bed! Even 20 mins a day makes a difference. Imagine that! You start TODAY! At work, I started this habit. I do 20 squats before I have to use the restroom. Literally! So there are days when just at work I do 80-100 squats before I even get home! And I am proud to say that some of the girls have joined me! One girl does 10 instead of 20. But she does 10! And she loves it! I also get the girls to take a 5 minute stretch break. And we all stand in the office and I lead a stretch session! Little things people, little things! So, when I get asked why I work out or eat the way I do…it will always be the same answer, because I have too!

Friday, December 16, 2016

The tradition is lost.



Traditions have changed in my family. I’m sure in everyone’s families. But today I am specifically talking about mine and what has changed for us. When we were younger, I remember having HUGE family get togethers. Sometimes our house, but usually at grandma’s. At least for my dad’s side. I remember my mom and Nina and Tia’s all hustling around the house cleaning and cooking. I remember my mom used to cut up a huge black trash bag and tape it to our kitchen table and Cat and I would have to sit there and spread masa all over tamale leaves. Are they called leaves? Anyway, you know what I mean. I remember my dad driving to the liquor store to pick up bottles and bottles of booze and beer. And boxes of those chocolates with alcohol in them. We used to be rebellious and steal them and think we were drunk! We had a party house for sure! Our families would come over and everyone was so dressed up. Us girls with big ass moƱos on our heads. The men and young boys in their suits! Usually all the siblings matched in some way. With our ruffle chonies that my mom would buy us. Cat and I hated dressing the same LOL! Our cousins all dressed the same too! I remember one New Year’s Eve party that our beloved angel Eddie was present for. Him and Steven had matching shirts and cowboy hats on! So funny! Why do parents do that?! I get it if the kids are twins but really, we were all 1-2-3 years apart! Glad I only have one kid! Anyway, everyone would come over and just get hammered! Music blazing, food being served. The men always ate first. Typical Mexicans! Kids were usually kicked out to a table the adults made for us and we all just did our own thing. This was usually the case for Thanksgiving, Christmas and New Year’s. NYE was usually THE BEST! Especially when the Marcianos all busted out their guitars and sang the night away. But now that we are all older and have our own children, we do our thing. A lot of people have moved away from California or just the L.A. area and no one wants to drive anywhere. For 1 it is expensive and time consuming. I, of all people know this all too well. I am ALWAYS in California and Arizona. It takes a huge toll on my finances and time! So when the holiday’s roll around and I’ve already been to Cali/AZ about 4, 5x a year…I don’t want to go again! And I know it sucks cause I miss my family and my son misses his cousins but it’s just not that easy anymore. And then I look at what my family is doing out there and no one even gets together! It unfortunately takes something tragic for all of us to get together or MONTHS and I mean MONTHS of planning. And that is so sad! Our kids will never know what it’s like to be under one roof during a holiday and actually enjoy each other. I think my son and I have spent Christmas/Thanksgiving in Cali 2x? AZ 2x? I can’t even remember! This year is no different. I actually work until 5 pm. I won’t even be spending the day with my son. I’ll see him Christmas evening. Good thing is I’m off the next 2 days after that but still. We don’t have a tradition with him and it sucks. So I am super grateful for the upbringing that I did have. For the memories that still linger in my head. For the pictures that we got to take and look back on and smile. To see the faces of those that are no longer with us and be happy that we shared that with them. Maybe our kids will start their own traditions. But for our generation, something went wrong. And it wasn’t just me moving away. The efforts are just not made. I wish I can say things will change. Or I will make them change. I just don’t have that power over everyone. I do know that I miss it and I will forever cherish these pictures and memories in my head.

Thursday, December 8, 2016

Santa isn't real?! No!


There comes a time in your child’s life that they just stop believing. Sorry but it’s true. They realize you’ve lied to them all these years. Santa, the Tooth Fairy, the Easter Bunny and hell, even ‘Jesus’. And no matter how much you try to keep their innocent minds into these fictional characters, well they figure it out! My son learned at a very young age that none of these things exist. And when he asked I told him the truth. “ You are right Nick, these things are all fake”. I explained to him that “Santa and the Easter Bunny” are mainly used to threatened your child to be good or else they won’t get anything for those holiday’s. And we have all done it. We have all held that over our kids heads, “if you aren’t good in school, Santa won’t bring you a present”! My kid straight up said to me one time, maybe 2-3 years ago (that’s how long he hasn’t believed) ‘mom I know you write Santa on the wrapping paper’. What was I going to do? Continue to lie to my kid! No! I told him he was right. Now I tell him “ay fool, if you are bad in school, you aren’t getting shizzle from me for your bday or xmas”! And it seems to work a lot better than lying to him about some non-existent character miraculously delivering gifts to the entire world in one night. I remember people telling me that I was mean for telling him the truth. That he is young and innocent and Santa and the Easter bunny are cute and fun. Yes I get that but I’m also a very different kinda mom. I’m very honest with my son even at his young age. I tell him like it is. Like when he says “I’m gonna be 9 mom, I am almost a teenager”. I then tell him “learn to wipe your nalgas the right way then talk to me about being a teenager”! And when he brings up how his friends talk about church or who they believe in, he asks me “is it ok if I don’t believe in ‘Jesus’ or a church?” Again, I tell him he doesn’t have to believe in anything that doesn’t seem right to him. Why would I force anything on him that I can’t even explain? I think he’s pretty sharp. Granted he’s my kid and of course I’m going to say that. But he says stuff that I didn’t think about when I was his age. He also says how we can’t be the only people in this galaxy and how aliens exist and are probably smarter than us. He once said he was going to work for NASA to prove Aliens exist. I explained to him that NASA or the government would probably have him sent to jail if he reveals the truth because those people don’t want the world to know. He said he would do it anyway. And if he did, I would be so proud of him! I don’t want his brain to be sheltered and caged in by the standards that we live in these days. No offense to you ‘elf on the shelf’ peeps but really?! I just cannot ever see myself doing that with my kid. He would probably laugh in my face! Instead I show him the chancla and tell him to be good that way! No manches! To each their own. And you should already know I will speak my mind. I raise my kid my way! I’m not really a sugar-coating kinda person. Not just in being a mom. But like in everything that comes out of my mouth! Nick will be the same way. He already is. And I get embarrassed sometimes but then I just realize he is speaking his mind. He isn’t lying. He’s not being rude he is just being truthful. Maybe he will be a writer one day!