I think we are all guilty of taking a break from social media from time to time. We somehow always go back. For the most part. I remember deleting my FB or MySpace after a crazy break-up or something. You gotta go back and delete posts and pics! So stupid haha! I am big on social media. I love to over share cause I can be overbearing anyway! I love to post pics of my kid even though I know a lot of people hate that shit. I used to “check-in” everywhere I went. I would snap pics of my awesome food. Set it all up you know? Make sure the lighting was perfect! I used to make sure the “perfect” selfie went up on my Instagram and would constantly check to see if I had any comments that would boost my ego! I started backing off from posting too much a few months back. Less selfies. Still forever guilty of posting about my kid cause I can’t help it! He’s cute and funny! Promise he is! Anyway, I posted less about my relationship. I started to realize that the less people knew, the better. On Facebook, it was just overwhelming. So much family drama! Too much religion! Too many sad stories of someone’s kid and their Go Fund Me page. I just couldn’t anymore. Pressure from co-workers as to why I don’t add them! And don’t get me started on those ads! Se manchan! I left Facebook about 6 weeks ago. I do not miss it at all! Next was Instagram. I left that about 3 weeks ago. I will have to stay, the ads and this new order that they started using fucked it all up for me. I missed a lot of posts for sure. But it became dramatic. It did. And I can say that it affected my relationships a bit. My kid would make comments like, “can you put down your phone?” How horrible is that! My son doesn’t own a phone and he is only allowed on the iPad for the time I allow. I do not allow electronics on my kitchen table when there is food. I had all these rules for him but there I was hooked on how many “likes” I was getting. So I’ve shut down half way! I say half way because I still have a Twitter and Snap Chat. I love my Twitter because I have maybe 8-10 people on there that know me personally. Twitter is my place to talk about how much I despise Trump, how much I believe in Aliens, and to talk about how much wine I truly drink on a weekly basis. I’d like to keep it that way! Snap Chat is still not bad. Plus I love seeing my cousins and sister post videos of my nieces and nephews. I like sending some fucked up videos to people cause I know they are gonna disappear! It’s not as demanding I guess.
With FB and IG currently out of my life, I watch more movies with my son. I play card games. I started reading again. I even keep my apartment cleaner! I honestly workout more too. No joke! My relationship seems more at ease as well. Everything has kinda been nice. Maybe one day I will fully disconnect from all of social media. Baby steps. For now, I am happy with my half divorce. I think everyone should for real take a break! You know what I noticed too? I e-mail, text and visit more friends now. Like in person. Like in real life, face to face kinda shit! So far this has been great!
No comments:
Post a Comment