Sunday, March 27, 2016
I'm an open book. But am I too harsh?
I've always known that I'm not "normal" for chick standards. I'm not very feminine. I really do hate wearing make-up. I hate combing my hair. I cannot stand wearing heels. I am "that gir" walking like I got a stick up my ass. Even now at 32 year's old, I have to FaceTime with quite a few people just to make sure I match and I look ok. I have no sense of style. I definitely consider myself more of a tomboy then a feminine chick. With that being said, I also come with some not so lady like traits. I cuss like a sailor. I have a horrible mouth. I sometimes don't even realize that I'm doing it. I have no idea how I keep it together at work when I am face to face with a guest and they are being assholes. I swear I was a damn dude in my past life. Anyway, with that being said, I also tell it like it is. A lot of times. I'm very blunt and open. I talk about everything with anyone and I give no fucks! I will tell you how to cure your cootchie infection with coconut oil or how to make sure you always use baby wipes after you take a shit and you think you're all clean! I'm also gross and disgusting and will offer to pop your blackheads. I swear there is some loose shit up in my head. So it brings me to the entire point of this rant. Am I too blunt? Am I not aware of other people's feelings as I should be? For example, I wrote a blog a few weeks back. The one about parents and how they never stop helping their kids no matter how old we are. I didn't find the post to be emotional or mean. But my cousin recently read it and gave me his feed back. He thought that I was being too honest. That I was putting my parents on blast on how I was raised and it made them look bad. I was totally confused and had to go back and re-read what I had written. I still don't see the post as mean. And after I read the comments people put on Facebook about it, I knew it wasn't mean. But was I too honest? Was I to hold back? Or am I ok voicing what I feel because other people won't? When I read the comments and saw people write that they could relate, it actually felt kinda good. Especially coming from a Latino stand point. We are all raised very similar and our stories are kinda refreshing. Did it offend my folks? NOPE! My dad called me in tears. He was so moved by it. My mom loved it so much she printed out the blog and all the kick ass comments people wrote about them. So if my parents are ok with me being the way I am. Open, honest, loud, blunt, then I need to be ok with myself. And I need to accept that not everyone is going to like me. Not everyone will understand my humor or my jokes. I'm a pretty amazing person to know but I won't hold back. I am who I am. I love that I'm unique and different and not normal for this worlds standards. And I can't be sorry for that. I won't apologize. Y SAS, se acabo!
Labels:
adults,
blunt,
confidence,
cussing,
dad,
freeyoursoul,
growing,
growing up,
mom,
personality,
self worth
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment